Our Team

Education Partners

The Charity works in close consultation with a number of other bodies and Educational Partners, including The National Trust for Scotland, the Robert Gordon University, Banff & Buchan College, Scottish Agricultural College, and Historic Scotland. To this end, key representatives of those institutions are also members of the Board of Directors.

Find Out More

Board of Directors

  • Mark Paterson
  • James Crombie
  • Rae Younger
  • Paddy Heron
  • Joan Hare
  • Suzanne Kelly




Mark Paterson - Chairman

Mark Paterson is the Curator of Cruickshank Botanic Garden, University of Aberdeen.  Having been in post since 2012, he previously worked at the Eden Project for a decade, designing, implementing and teaching the tertiary education provision across the site.

With a Masters in Science Communication and a PGCE at FE and HE level, Mark combines this knowledge with extensive international training and career experience in horticulture, including Royal Botanic Gardens, Hamilton, Canada, the National Trust for Scotland and Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

Mark remains very keen to improve the provision of practical teaching of horticultural skill and gardening experience in both urban and rural settings.

Management Team

Marc Ellington

Marc Ellington is the Centre’s Executive Director. Marc is passionately committed to developing the STSTC as a Centre of Excellence of national and international repute, which will provide an effective response to the growing crisis we are facing in the absence of the knowledge and skills necessary to meet the present and future requirements of our Built and Landscape Heritage.

A former Board member of the Government’s Historic Buildings Council, Grampian Enterprise, the British Heritage Committee and the Heritage Lottery Fund for Scotland, Marc is currently a Non-Executive Director of Historic Scotland, a Board member of Banff and Buchan College and a Trustee of The National Galleries of Scotland.

Marc’s contribution to the conservation and protection of our historic environment has been acknowledged by his receipt of The Civic Trust, Saltire and European Heritage Awards.